top of page

still simmering. . .

I've been thinking through everything I learned last week. Not just the classes and interviews and networking. I learned a lot about myself too.

I've learned that God made me a writer. That explains why people have conversations in my head. They all talk at once sometimes and it gets very confusing. Apparently, this happens to other people too.

And no, we didn't meet at an insane asylum. Although, I'm not sure a writer's conference is very different, but I digress. . .

So, things I learned:

Sometimes it's not about talent, its about guts. This is true. If I had stopped after the first interview I flubbed, I would have never have met the other agents who were actually interested in my book, despite my flubbing.

I am a better writer than most people and motivated to get even better. Apparently, that's a must in this business.

Being an introvert with the ability to turn on my extrovert qualities really helps. And I don't mean faking it or pretending to be something I'm not. I am just okay in both situations, even if I prefer being an introvert.

Sleep makes everything better.

Chocolate helps too.

And a few things I learned about the writing world:

Not everyone gives good advice. No two authors are the same. No two books are the same. Your writing cannot sacrifice your voice, or it's no longer yours. Take the good stuff, ignore the rest.

The book doesn't have to end the way you think it does. Seriously. Just because you wrote it and its your baby, doesn't mean you are right. You can rewrite it. You will probably have to if you want to succeed at this. Prepare yourself for that.

This last thing was something I already knew but needed to be reminded of. You cannot edit what you don't put on paper. You cannot plan this perfectly wonderful novel, research every part of it, get the plot lines and the conflicts all worked out. . .and then never write it. You cannot get a novel published that you never finish. It's just not possible.

So, I guess I'm reminding the authors reading this that you have to write. Yes, enjoy your family, feed your kids, laugh a lot, pray even more, but you have to write.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page