top of page

Just breathe. . .


I'm not really a beach person. I never have been. I grew up an hour from the gulf coast and can count the number of times I went during the summer on one hand. Minus one finger.

I never liked sand. Or sun. Or heat. Or saltwater. I certainly am not a fan of crowds, drunk men or noise.

I never liked the beach. Not until now.

So, it's October. My favorite month of the year (after December). And we decided to spend a few days at the ocean because it was the cheapest vacation we could think of and just far enough away to seem like a real trip.

We arrived at two a.m. and opened the balcony doors and my life changed.

Salty air, the crash of waves. I just sat down for a minute and tried to take it all in. I felt like God created those sounds and smells just for me. They were a special kind of grace for my life. My crazy life. And I just got to sit there and breathe. Maybe for the first time in a long time.

I had planned to work while I was there. I wasn't going to write a complete novel, but I was definitely going to work on a couple. But my computer stayed in my bag and the cord never got plugged in. I just took it all in. I laughed like I haven't in a long time. I acted silly and ate too much fried seafood and enjoyed myself.

And now it's over and I am stuck somewhere between missing it and being glad to be home. I opened my latest manuscript today and found new inspiration and new perspective. Sometimes stepping away from something is the very best thing you can do.

Just take a step back, shut the stupid computer and breathe. That's my perscription, anyway.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page