top of page

It doesn't have to end the way you thought...

It's a diffcult idea for me. I like my book. I like the way it ends. I like the way the characters develop. I like it. It's finished. I don't want to rewrite it.

Period.

But the publisher asks for sweeping changes. . . before they'll read it.

Sigh.

There is good news here. I mean, they read the entire proposal (including that dreaded synopsis) and they didn't throw the whole thing in the trash (which might have been one of my biggest fears). They even read the first few chapters and didn't automatically hate me and my writing style, vowing to never print my work (okay, that's another fear).

In fact, taking the time to draft an email outlining the changes the book will need before they could possibly accept it is a huge positive.

Most writers never get this far. And I can't help but think of the writers that I have met that have gotten to this point and quit. I even considered it. Do I really want to do this? Is it really worth the effort? What happens if I do this and they still won't print it?

It is daunting task to rewrite a book. And it would be easier to quit. It would be easier to say that the book is done, it's good and I'm not going to put in the extra effort to rewrite it.

But I won't. I can't. I'll lock myself in my creative zone and rewrite the entire thing if I have to. Every single word, if I have to.

Because I want this. Period.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page